Write on Sports names four Literacy Champions at 2017 Gala

NEWARK, NJ –  Write on Sports held its 12th Anniversary Gala last week at The Avenue A Club, a firehouse from the 1880s restored to its former beauty. The room was filled with excitement and a sense of celebration among the nearly 200 guests.

WoS adds three to board; names Advisory Council Chair

Write on Sports, Inc., has added three directors, Dev Gandhi, PJ Johnson and Louis LaSalle to its board, bringing the total number of WoS directors to 11.

WoS students cover a Seton Hall hoops game

Write on Sports students (in white shirts) interview a player after the game.

NEWARK - A group of Write on Sports students put their journalism skills into practice during a workshop at Prudential Center with the Seton Hall men’s basketball team at a game January 7, 2017.

2016 gala honors literacy champions, teachers, students

Honorees King Rice, left, Lindsay Barra and Hubie Brown, right, with WoS Executive Director Byron Yake

The Write on Sports 11 th Anniversary Gala on Sept. 14 in Newark accomplished three things: celebrated teachers, honored three 2016 Literacy Champions and raised funds for the tuition-free programing WoS provides to middle school students.

National non-profit honors WoS founder Yake as fellow

WoS "Literacy Champion" honorees David Tyree, left, Jenny Vrentas, second from right, and Stephen A. Smith, right, pose with WoS founder and executive director Byron Yake, second from left, at the WoS 2015 Gala in October.

SAN FRANCSICO, Nov. 13, 2015 – Byron Yake, the founder and executive director of Write on Sports, was named a Purpose Prize fellow by